WHL Awards: Del Wilson Trophy

By David Kataja
In Latest News
May 8th, 2015

Seattle Thunderbirds goalie Taran Kozun has been named the recipient of the Del Wilson Award for Top WHL Goalie.

The 20-year-old Kozun had the best season of his junior career posting a .915 save percentage and 2.41 GAA in 60 games. He finished second among WHL goalies in those two categories while also helping lead Seattle to the playoffs for the third straight year. Tristan Jarry of the Edmonton Oil Kings was the other finalist for the award.

Kozun signed an Amateur Tryout Agreement (ATO) with the Adirondack Flames of the American Hockey League after the T-Birds season.

The Del Wilson Trophy is awarded to the Top Goaltender in the WHL over the season. The trophy is named after Del Wilson who is the Governor and general manager of the Regina Pats and has also been the WHL’s Referee-in-chief. Wilson helped lead the WHL into a partnership with Ontario and Quebec and today there are currently 59 Major junior teams in the three leagues.

Previous winners of the award include Carey Price (2006-07), Cam Ward (2001-02, 2003-04) and Martin Jones (2009-10).

David Kataja (11 Posts)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *