The WHL Announces the Recipients of the 2011-12 Season Awards

By Josh Daniels
In Headlines
May 3rd, 2012

The Western Hockey League announced the winners of the awards yesterday at the WHL Awards Luncheon held in Calgary, Alberta. There were 14 awards given out by the WHL.

The Four Broncos Memorial Trophy is awarded to the Western Hockey League player of the year and for the 2011-12 season this award was given to forward; Brendan Shinnimin of the Tri-City Americans. The Winnipeg native had an incredible season offensively, establishing new career highs in goals, assists and points. In 69 regular season games he scored 58 times and assisted on 76 goals for 134 points, along with 82 penalty minutes and a plus/minus rating of +45. He was also awarded the Bob Clarke Trophy for leading the league in points. The 21 year old was second in the league in goals and third in assists. He was second in the league with 21 power-play goals and tied for third with 9 game winning goals. Shinnimin had a very consistent season as he scored at least one point in 60 of his 69 games he played in.

Runner-Up: Emerson Etem – Medicine Hat Tigers

The Jim Piggot Memorial Trophy is given to the WHL Rookie of the Year Award and this season it was awarded to the younger brother of Max and Griffin; Sam Reinhart of the Kootenay Ice. He played along side his brother Max who was drafted to the Calgary Flames in 2010. The 16 year old forward was 2nd in team scoring only behind his brother. In 67 games this season, Sam scored 28 times and added 34 assists for 62 points. He only had 2 penalty minutes all season and was a +16. He had fifteen multiple point games this season and had five game winning goals. He is eligible for the 2014 NHL draft.

Runner-Up: Tim Bozon – Kamloops Blazers

The Del Wilson Trophy is awarded to the WHL Goaltender of the Year Award and this season it was given to Tyler Bunz of the Medicine Hat Tigers. Bunz is an Edmonton prospect as he was drafted 21st overall in the 2007 NHL entry draft. Bunz enjoyed his best season statistically in 2011-12 over his four year WHL career. Bunz played in 61 games this season, posting a 39-17-5 record with a 2.57 goals against average, a .925 save percentage and 3 shutouts. Bunz finished second in the league in save percentage, third in wins, fifth in goals against average and tied for sixth in shutouts. In the month of February, Bunz had a perfect record of 7-0 with a 1.86 goals against average and a .941 save percentage as he was the named the Vaughn WHL Goaltender of the Month.

Runner-Up: Ty Rimmer – Tri-City Americans

The Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy is awarded to the WHL Defenseman of the Year and this season it was won by the Red Deer Rebel defenseman; Alex Petrovic. The 21 year-old, Florida Panthers draft pick; Petrovic had a great season despite the Rebels missing out on the playoffs but on a blueline that was decimated by injuries, Petrovic was able to hold the blueline together. Petrovic and Matt Dumba were the only defenseman to play in more than 55 games this season, as they played in 68 and 69 respectively. Petrovic stepped up this year in all situations as he often lined up against opposing teams’ scoring lines. Petrovic scored a career high 12 goals and had 36 helpers for 48 points. He also led the Rebels with 141 penalty minutes.

Runner-Up: Brenden Kichton – Brandon Wheat Kings 

Brad Hornung Trophy – WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player: Mark Stone – Brandon Wheat Kings

Runner-Up: Ryan Murray – Everett Silvertips

Daryl K. Seaman Memorial Trophy – WHL Scholastic Player: Reid Gow – Spokane Chiefs

Runner-Up: Jimmy Bubnick – Calgary Hitmen

Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy – WHL Coach of the Year – Jim Hiller – Tri-City Americans

Runner-Up: Pat Conacher – Regina Pats

Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy – WHL Executive of the Year – Bob Green – Edmonton Oil Kings

 Runner-Up: Craig Bonner – Kamloops Blazers

Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy – WHL Humanitarian of the Year – Taylor Vause – Swift Current Broncos                                             Runner-Up: Brendan Gallagher – Vancouver Giants

WHL Marketing/Buisiness Award:  Moose Jaw Warriors

 Runner-Up: Spokane Chiefs

Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy – WHL Top Official – Pat Smith

Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy – WHL Regular Season Champions – Edmonton Oil Kings

Josh Daniels (204 Posts)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *